Dark Hour

clarinet, piano & string quartet, 14 mins, 2013

Large Ensemble

Commissioned for Northern Chords Festival 2013

Premiered at the Sage Gateshead by Mark Simpson (clarinet), Omri Epstein (piano), Mathieu van Bellen (violin), Henry Tong (violin), Liisa Randalu (viola), Mark Schumann (cello)

For clarinet and piano quintet

In three movements:

i. in azure beaming
ii. while mortals sleep
iii. at midnight hour